Les Rencontres AKAA

With the support of  logo_rgb

The Invention of Authenticity

Classifying. Putting into boxes. Comparing. Exaggerating -just slightly- the similarities and the differences in order to simplify this world, in order to understand it. A neat and tidy world with well-designed boxes: the starting point, the point of arrival. Between the two there is the unknown and the other.

For over five centuries, art and anthropology were interwoven and built the “authentic” African art object; a creation conditioned by the Northern countries and their quest for the exotic.

Today, the notion of authenticity is again and forever a mirror reflecting our expectations. What is truly an authentic artwork?

In this first edition of Les Rencontres AKAA, our panel of speakers are starting over and redefining this notion through a study of particularities, taking us back to the genesis of the artwork to explore the creative process of today’s artists, to dive into the techniques, artistic media, skills, to share stories that are rich, diverse, and true.

Les Rencontres AKAA”  is a bilingual program.
Free admission to the events taking place at the auditorium. As places are limited, please book.

17:00

Auditorium, Carreau du Temple

The Ceramic Dance

Ceramist King Houndekpinkou and Musician Fumie Hihara present “La Danse Céramique”, a performance revisiting on stage the genesis of a ceramic artwork through the four elements: earth, water, wind and fire, with the sound of the Koto (Japanese musical instrument) and the Gan (Beninese musical instrument).

14:00

Auditorium, Carreau du Temple

Parallels

Artist Admire Kamudzengerere discusses his practice and his medium alongside Raphael Chikukwa, Chief Curator and Deputy Director of the National Gallery Zimbabwe, while both speakers explore art within the contemporary Zimbabwean national context. Catinca Tabacaru, New York art dealer and co-founder of the CTG Collective, moderates the conversation.

 


15:30

Auditorium, Carreau du Temple

Gender and the Role of Today’s Institutions in Tomorrow’s History of Art

Karen Milbourne, curator at the National Museum of African art, Smithsonian Institute, discusses the inclusion of women artists in tomorrow’s history of art with artists Ato Malinda and Nnenna Okore.

 


17:00

Auditorium, Carreau du Temple

Semiotic of the Medium

Artist El Anatsui, Winner of the Golden Lion for Lifetime Achievement at the Venice Biennale, explains the paramount importance of exploring, choosing and mastering the medium in one’s artistic practice. In conversation with him, Salimata Diop decrypts the omnipresent linguistic aspect in his work.

14:00

Auditorium, Carreau du Temple

Creating one’s Medium

Photographer Pieter Hugo in conversation with Karolina Lewandowska, Curator at the Centre Pompidou, discusses the creative process behind his latest series and how it involves the creation of his own technique.

 


15:30

Auditorium, Carreau du Temple

The Invisible Masters

Rachid Koraïchi, in conversation with Writer and Curator Rose Issa, retraces the genesis of   the monumental installation « The Invisible Masters » : a long-term project of 99 banners relating the lives and heritage of fourteen great mystics of Islam.

 


17:00

Auditorium

Outlines of the days to come

“Outlines of the days to come” is a projection of artists’ videos curated by Dagara Dakin, bringing together films by six photographers and video makers, Jean-François Boclé, Bruno Boudjelal, Dimitri Fagbohoun, François-Xavier Gbré, Yo-Yo Gonthier, Emo de Medeiros, questioning history in a retrospective way or revisiting a more personal memory, drawing from this material to create the work.

KWERK Lounge Series

Presenting a more friendly and intimate format for discussions with the public the artistic team has created the Kwerk Lounge Series, which will take place in our VIP lounge imagined by designer and architect Albert Angel and Lawrence Knight.

11:30

VIP Lounge (open to the public)

Bandjoun Station – Culture Incubator

Artist Barthélémy Toguo and Germain Noubi, respectively Founder and Director of the Centre for visual Arts Bandjoun Station in conversation with Art Critic and Journalist Roxana Azimi, discuss the vision and mission carried by the center and the necessity of visionaries initiatives on the continent.

11:30

VIP Lounge (open to the public)

… To a New Concept

Artist Olalekan Jeyifous, Writer Nana Ocran, and Aaron Kohn, Director of the MOAD, discuss the relationship between architecture and design, and the emergence of an evermore (inter)connected Africa. To a New Concept… is a look at theoretical drawings, timeless architectures, and even tangible furniture that collectively arrive at a new and changing idea of Africa.

Booksigning

15:30

Bookstore Artcurial (open to the public)

Booksigning of Invisible Masters by artist Rachid Koraïchi, and Signs of Our Times, From Calligraphy to Calligraffiti  by Rose Issa in attendance of the authors.

 


18:00

VIP Lounge (open to the public)

Artist Bruce Clarke presents the book Ghosts of the Sea, edited by ARTCO Gallery. The presentation will be followed by a book signing.

Les Rencontres AKAA

Avec le soutien d’ logo_rgb

L’Invention de l’Authenticité

Classifier. Mettre dans des boîtes. Comparer. Exagérer, rien qu’un peu, les similarités et les différences pour simplifier ce monde, pour parvenir à le comprendre. Un monde bien rangé dans des cases bien conçues, tel est notre point de départ et tel est notre point d’arrivée. Entre les deux il y a l’inconnu, l’autre, l’ailleurs.
Pendant plus de cinq siècles, art et anthropologie se sont entremêlés, pour forger l’objet d’art «authentique» africain, création conditionnée par une quête d’exotisme des pays du Nord.

Aujourd’hui, la notion d’authenticité est encore et toujours un miroir qui reflète nos attentes. Qu’est-ce qu’une œuvre d’art authentique ?

Dans cette première édition des Rencontres AKAA, le panel d’intervenants fait table rase et redéfinit cette notion, à travers la particularité. Nous revenons à la genèse de l’œuvre et explorons le processus créatif des artistes d’aujourd’hui, nous plongeons au cœur de la technique, du medium artistique, des savoir-faire, nous partageons des histoires riches, variées, vraies.

La programmation des Rencontres AKAA est bilingue, et les événements qui auront lieu à l’auditorium du Carreau du Temple sont en accès est libre, mais les places étant limitées, pensez à réserver.

17h00

Auditorium du Carreau du Temple

La Danse Céramique

Le céramiste King Houndekpinkou et la musicienne Fumie Hihara présentent “La Danse Céramique”, une performance qui revisite sur scène, au son du Koto (instrument de musique japonais) et du Gan (instrument de musique béninois), la genèse d’une oeuvre céramique à travers les quatre éléments: terre, eau, air et feu.

14h00

Auditorium du Carreau du Temple

Parallèles

L’artiste Admire Kamudzengerere parle de son travail et de son medium aux côtés de Raphael Chikukwa, Conservateur Général et Directeur adjoint de la Galerie Nationale du Zimbabwe. Ils explorent ensemble la position de l’art dans le contexte national zimbabwéen. Catinca Tabacaru, galeriste new-yorkaise et co-fondatrice du CTG Collective, modère la conversation.


15h30

Auditorium du Carreau du Temple

La Question du Genre et le Rôle des Institutions d’Aujourd’hui dans l’Histoire de l’Art de Demain

Karen Milbourne, conservatrice du National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institute, aborde la question de l’inclusion des femmes artistes dans l’histoire de l’art de demain avec les artistes Ato Malinda et Nnenna Okore.


17h00

Auditorium du Carreau du Temple

Sémiotique du Medium

L’artiste El Anatsui, lauréat du Lion d’Or de la Biennale de Venise pour l’ensemble de son œuvre en 2015, expose l’importance primordiale de l’exploration, du choix et de la maitrise du medium dans la pratique artistique. Salimata Diop décrypte avec lui l’omniprésence de l’aspect linguistique dans son travail.

14h00

Auditorium du Carreau du Temple

Créer son Médium

Le photographe Pieter Hugo, en conversation avec Karolina Lewandowska, Conservatrice au Centre Pompidou, explore le processus créatif de ses plus récentes séries de photographies et plus particulièrement la création d’une technique propre.


15h30

Auditorium du Carreau du Temple

Les Maîtres de l’Invisible

Rachid Koraïchi, en conversation avec l’écrivain et curatrice Rose Issa, revient sur la genèse de l’installation monumentale « Les Maîtres de l’Invisible » : un projet à long terme de 99 panneaux-étendards retraçant les vies et l’héritage de quatorze grands mystiques de l’Islam.


17h00

Auditorium du Carreau du Temple

Contours des Jours à venir

« Contours des jours à venir » est une projection de vidéos d’artistes curatée par Dagara Dakin réunissant les films de six photographes et vidéastes, Jean-François Boclé, Bruno Boudjelal, Dimitri Fagbohoun, François-Xavier Gbré, Yo-Yo Gonthier, Emo de Medeiros, s’interrogeant de manière rétrospective sur l’histoire ou revisitant une mémoire plus personnelle, puisant dans ce matériau pour faire œuvre.

KWERK Lounge Series

Les KWERK Lounge Series ont été créées par l’équipe artistique pour ajouter au programme des Rencontres AKAA des conversations avec le public sur un format plus intime et convivial au sein de l’espace VIP dont le design cette année est assurée par les designers et architectes Albert Angel et Lawrence Knight.

Les places étant limitées, pensez à réserver.

11:30

Espace VIP (ouvert au public)

Bandjoun Station – Incubateur de Culture

L’artiste Barthélémy Toguo et Germain Noubi, respectivement fondateur et directeur du Centre d’arts visuels Bandjoun Station parlent à la critique d’art et journaliste Roxana Azimi de la vision et de la mission que porte le centre et de la nécessité d’initiatives visionnaires sur le continent africain.

11:30

Espace VIP (ouvert au public)

… To a New Concept

L’artiste Olalekan Jeyifous, l’écrivain Nana Ocran et Aaron Kohn, directeur du MOAD (Museum of African Design) discutent de la relation entre l’architecture et le design et de l’émergence d’une Afrique toujours plus (inter)connectée.

Séances de dédicaces

15:30

Librairie Artcurial (ouvert au public)

Séance de dédicaces du livre Maîtres de l’Invisible par l’artiste Rachid Koraïchi, et de Signs of Our Times, From Calligraphy to Calligraffiti, de Rose Issa, en présence des auteurs.

 


18:00

Espace VIP (ouvert au public)

L’artiste Bruce Clarke présente le livre Fantômes de la Mer, édité par ARTCO Gallery. La présentation sera suivie d’une séance de dédicaces.